Test Your Knowledge: 10 Maine Trivia Questions

How much do you know about our great state of Maine? Here are some fun trivia questions… and answers down below! Quiz yourself or quiz your friends and see how well you know Dirigo Pines’ home state…

  1. “Dirigo” means what?
    1. Peace and Liberty
    2. I Lead
    3. Ever Upward
  2. The official Maine state dessert is:
    1. Whoopie Pie
    2. Blueberry Pie
    3. Apple Pie
  3. Farmington celebrates Chester Greenwood Day. As a teenager, what did Greenwood invent to earn this special day?
    1. Earmuffs
    2. Snowpants
    3. Mittens
  4. The Maine State Tree is the:
    1. White Ash
    2. White Birch
    3. White Pine
  5. How many islands are there in Maine?
    1. 1,166
    2. 2,166
    3. 3,166
  6. True or False: Maine is the only state with one syllable.
  7. True or False: Maine is the only state to border just one other state.
  8. Which city was Maine’s first capital, before it was moved to Augusta in 1832?
    1. Portland
    2. Ellsworth
    3. York
  9. True or False: Geographically, Maine is bigger than the other 5 New England states combined.
  10. What’s the Maine state animal?
    1. Lobster
    2. Moose
    3. Black Bear

And a 16 point Bonus Question: How many Maine counties can you name?


  1. B. Dirigo is Latin for “I Direct” or “I Lead.”
  2. B. Blueberry Pie. The whoopie pie is the Maine state treat.
  3. A. Earmuffs. Greenwood invented earmuffs in 1873 at the age of 15.
  4. C. White Pine. And the Maine State Flower is the white pine cone and tassel.
  5. C. 3,166 islands.
  6. True
  7. True
  8. A. Portland.
  9. True. And Aroostook County is bigger than Connecticut and Rhode Island combined.
  10. B. Moose. Maine has more moose per mile than any other state, except Alaska.

Bonus: Cumberland, Franklin, Piscataquis, Kennebec, Oxford, Androscoggin, Waldo, Washington, York, Lincoln, Knox, Hancock, Sagadahoc, Somerset, Aroostook and Penobscot. Do you sing the counties to the tune of Yankee Doodle like most Maine-educated kids? It’s never too late to learn — click here. There are 16 counties in our state, from Cumberland to Franklin… 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s